Document 1458

Letter from Frances Gardner 04 - 11/10/89

Author(s): Frances Gardner

Copyright holder(s): Dr Sheena Gardner


[CENSORED: address] 11.10.89

Dear Sheena,

I have been busy typing out my notes for the Cottage Homes meeting this afternoon so thought I would hastily write a long overdue letter to you. Life seems to have been so hectic since August. However, things will be quieter from now on. Uncle Bill had a good holiday. He phoned to say he had arrived home on Sat. and found all was in order. I did feel sorry for him returning to an empty house after all the bustle here, especially as it was apparantly Thanksgiving weekend with you. Barbara and John and Alex were here for a week and they too have now left. Our next visitors will be Kevin's parents at the end of the month and after that I think Dad and I will 'batten down the hatches' for the winter and emerge again in the Spring. I hope all is well with you and that you are now nicely esconced in your new home. I am looking forward to having more details from you. Also, can you please confirm that you have received Dad's money and our flowers. I understand they had difficulty in delivering the latter and I eventually gave them your work phone number. Obviously, it will be better to send any parcels etc to you at the University. I did think the caretaker might have taken in messages.

We had a letter from Aunt Barbara's neice's daughter in New Zealand wishing information on their family tree! She had sent for a copy of Aunt Barbara's will and got our names from there. They all received a small legacy too. Apparantly one of them was in Scotland last summer but had no addresses. Went to Stromness and was told Dad was at the Home Office but got no further. I think it was such a pity as this was Bobby's daughter and he was Aunt B's favourite brother. She was still in hospital and would have been so happy to see her. I cannot understand why she did not have the address in Aberfeldy from her sister, Evelyn in Vancouver! However, I now have two family trees to unravel. Uncle Bill has given me fresh inspiration for the task you sent me. I just hope I can settle down to do it.

Well its lunch time now. Soup and a roll as usual. mince and potatoes for tea to-night. What a lot more rubbish you can write when you get going on the type writer.

Much love,

Mum xxx

PS. Uncle Bill could only be persuaded to take your dressing gown! He was quite flustered about his luggage and it was only with difficulty that I could persuade him to take a very small packet of Edinburgh Rock to Sheila & co!!

Also you will be pleased to know that I put up your net curtain in the back porch - what an improvement on the torn rag that was there!!

This work is protected by copyright. All rights reserved.

The SCOTS Project and the University of Glasgow do not necessarily endorse, support or recommend the views expressed in this document.


Cite this Document

APA Style:

Letter from Frances Gardner 04 - 11/10/89. 2024. In The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow. Retrieved 22 April 2024, from

MLA Style:

"Letter from Frances Gardner 04 - 11/10/89." The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow, 2024. Web. 22 April 2024.

Chicago Style

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech, s.v., "Letter from Frances Gardner 04 - 11/10/89," accessed 22 April 2024,

If your style guide prefers a single bibliography entry for this resource, we recommend:

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. 2024. Glasgow: University of Glasgow.


Information about Document 1458

Letter from Frances Gardner 04 - 11/10/89


Text audience

Adults (18+)
Audience size 1
Writer knew intended audience

Text details

Method of composition Typed
Year of composition 1989
Word count 500
General description Letter from mother in Scotland to daughter living in Canada

Text publication details

Part of a longer series of texts
Name of series Series of letters from mother to daughter

Text setting


Text type



Author details

Author id 1059
Forenames Frances
Surname Gardner
Gender Female
Decade of birth 1920
Educational attainment College
Age left school 18
Occupation Retired Social Worker
Place of birth Bridge of Weir
Region of birth Renfrew
Birthplace CSD dialect area Renfr
Country of birth Scotland
Place of residence Edinburgh
Region of residence Edinburgh
Residence CSD dialect area Edb
Country of residence Scotland
Father's occupation Corn Factor
Father's place of birth Montreal
Father's region of birth Quebec
Father's country of birth Canada
Mother's occupation Housewife
Mother's place of birth Edinburgh
Mother's region of birth Edinburgh
Mother's birthplace CSD dialect area Edb
Mother's country of birth Scotland


Language Speak Read Write Understand Circumstances
English Yes Yes Yes Yes
Scots Yes Yes Yes Yes