Document 889

Correspondence from Canada: Letter 41 - 08.05.82

Author(s): 852

Copyright holder(s): Name withheld


The Maggie
8th May.

Dear Mum & Dad,

Thanks for the last 2 letters and photos, which I'm returning. I hope you enjoyed your holiday in Yugoslavia and that Mum's stomach was OK. I didn't realise that the problem was dragging on - I hope you get it sorted out soon.

I've had no news from the AUC yet - I'll write or maybe phone as soon as I know. I'm expecting the result of my application any day now. I thought that you flew out on holiday on May 9th not May 2nd - thus the confusion in my last letter.

Not a lot is happening here. The weather is beautiful - sunny and in the 80°'s for 3 days now. Yesterday I put on T-shirt and SHORTS!! - and so exposed my hairy legs to ultra violet light for the first time in about 12 years! Unfortunately the warmer weather must have reactivated all the bacteria that was in cold storage all winter, for I've had a couple of minor health problems. A week or so ago I had an eye infection in my left eye and had to get some ointment from the Health Centre. That's cleared up completely now, but at present I'm suffering from a summer cold. There's a lot of it around - it's irritating but not too severe. I'm taking medicated lemon drinks and getting lots of sleep.

I've settled into my new room now - it's a carbon copy of my old room, but with one less bed and a nicer view - it's nice. One of the students who's leaving for the summer has left me his desk and swivel chair for the while, so I'll be able to do a lot of work here.

The thesis proceeds apace. I'm kept very busy with it altho' the better weather is distracting. I've a massive amount of reading etc. to get through, but I'm getting a considerable amount down on paper. If I can keep up the pace of the last few weeks I should finish in time. Chapter One should be in some form by the end of this month, and after that's finished the rest should fall into place more easily.

I wish I'd a little more free time. Helen [CENSORED: surname] is taking her son to Quebec sometime this month and has offered me the chance to go too. I'll see how much work I can do beforehand - I'd rather get ahead of myself than fall behind. I've also got a standing invitation to go to Shediac to eat lobster and lie on the beach, and I'll probably do that before I start on the revised draft of the thesis as a whole. Plus I've been invited to join trips to Halifax, Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island. Oh, for a computerised counterpart to take some of the workload off!

The Maggie is about ¼ full and at times derelict but there are some decent folk left. It's lonelier than it's been but not too bad. It keeps me working. Hope you're all well,

Write soon,
[CENSORED: forename]

This work is protected by copyright. All rights reserved.

The SCOTS Project and the University of Glasgow do not necessarily endorse, support or recommend the views expressed in this document.


Cite this Document

APA Style:

Correspondence from Canada: Letter 41 - 08.05.82. 2024. In The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow. Retrieved 25 July 2024, from

MLA Style:

"Correspondence from Canada: Letter 41 - 08.05.82." The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow, 2024. Web. 25 July 2024.

Chicago Style

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech, s.v., "Correspondence from Canada: Letter 41 - 08.05.82," accessed 25 July 2024,

If your style guide prefers a single bibliography entry for this resource, we recommend:

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. 2024. Glasgow: University of Glasgow.


Information about Document 889

Correspondence from Canada: Letter 41 - 08.05.82


Text audience

Adults (18+)
Audience size 3-5
Writer knew intended audience

Text details

Method of composition Handwritten
Year of composition 1982
Word count 537

Text medium

Other airmail

Text publication details

Part of a longer series of texts
Name of series Correspondence from Canada

Text setting


Text type



Author details

Author id 852
Gender Male
Decade of birth 1950
Educational attainment University
Age left school 17
Upbringing/religious beliefs Protestantism
Occupation University Lecturer
Place of birth Ayr
Region of birth S Ayr
Birthplace CSD dialect area Ayr
Country of birth Scotland
Place of residence Bridge of Weir
Region of residence Renfrew
Residence CSD dialect area Renfr
Country of residence Scotland
Father's occupation Insurance Broker
Father's place of birth Auchinleck
Father's region of birth S Ayr
Father's birthplace CSD dialect area Ayr
Father's country of birth Scotland
Mother's occupation Dental Receptionist
Mother's place of birth Ayr
Mother's region of birth S Ayr
Mother's birthplace CSD dialect area Ayr
Mother's country of birth Scotland


Language Speak Read Write Understand Circumstances
English Yes Yes Yes Yes In most everyday situations
Portuguese Yes No No Yes When trying to communicate with my in-laws
Scots Yes Yes Yes Yes In domestic/activist circles; reading literature