Document 40

My friend Jack

Author(s): George Hynd

Copyright holder(s): George Hynd


I had a friend from the USA
And I loved to meet him every day
Wher'ere I roamed, be it near or far
I could meet my friend in almost any bar
He's called Jack Daniel's

He hailed from Lynchburg, Tennessee
And he would warm and comfort me
He'd pick me up when I was down
And take away my worried frown
Good old Jack Daniel's

He'd make me laugh, he'd make me smile
And I'd be happy for a while
Joyous times to me he'd bring
Some times he'd even make me sing
Another Jack Daniel's

When Jack and I were on the scud
The barmaid's sweat it caused a flood
An just tae keep me gaun wi booze
They wir aw supplied wi runnin shoes
Gies mair Jack Daniel's

But Jack and I, we've had to part
And leaving him almost broke my heart
My friend Jacks now gone forever
Because I've got a wonky liver
God rest Jack Daniel's.

This work is protected by copyright. All rights reserved.

The SCOTS Project and the University of Glasgow do not necessarily endorse, support or recommend the views expressed in this document.


Cite this Document

APA Style:

My friend Jack. 2024. In The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow. Retrieved 25 July 2024, from

MLA Style:

"My friend Jack." The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow, 2024. Web. 25 July 2024.

Chicago Style

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech, s.v., "My friend Jack," accessed 25 July 2024,

If your style guide prefers a single bibliography entry for this resource, we recommend:

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. 2024. Glasgow: University of Glasgow.


Information about Document 40

My friend Jack


Text audience

General public
Other self
Audience size 1

Text details

Method of composition Handwritten
Year of composition 1995
Word count 178

Text type



Author details

Author id 611
Forenames George
Surname Hynd
Gender Male
Decade of birth 1940
Educational attainment None
Age left school 15
Upbringing/religious beliefs Protestantism
Occupation Retired Plasterer
Place of birth Dunfermline
Region of birth Fife
Birthplace CSD dialect area Fif
Country of birth Scotland
Place of residence Bilston, Roslin
Region of residence Midlothian
Residence CSD dialect area midLoth
Father's occupation Plasterer
Father's place of birth Kelty
Father's region of birth Fife
Father's birthplace CSD dialect area Fif
Father's country of birth Scotland
Mother's occupation Housewife
Mother's place of birth Kelty
Mother's region of birth Fife
Mother's birthplace CSD dialect area Fif
Mother's country of birth Scotland


Language Speak Read Write Understand Circumstances
English Yes Yes Yes Yes
Scots Yes Yes Yes Yes