Document 1457

Letter from Frances Gardner 03 - 05/09/89

Author(s): Frances Gardner

Copyright holder(s): Dr Sheena Gardner


[CENSORED: address]
[CENSORED: postcode]

Tues. 5th Sept.

My dear Sheena,

Many thanks for your letter received yesterday with all the exciting news of your "condo". It sounds lovely, well situated spacious and secure. Your service charge may seen high but it does mean that the place is well maintained and that there is cash available for external repairs etc. (K had a similar charge in Ealing.) and as I understand from you all your heating, water supply etc are included. The apartment is carpeted - what about cooker and 'frig? I presume they are there already - you have chairs, table bed curtains etc so hopefully will have enough to tide you over. But do please let us know if you need extra cash. Dad can always be persuaded to dig deep in his pockets when the need arises!! You have bought at a good time for the purchaser and now your foot is on the ladder when you wish to sell and buy something else it usually means only a house for a house - ie if you sell high you have to pay high and vice-versa.

K & K have arranged the date of their wedding 7th July - the following Sat. was not available at the church, and the 21st is the first anniversary of Fred [CENSORED: surname]'s death. As K has asked Judith to be bridesmaid that ruled out that date. We have still to fix venue for reception but are making enquiries. Judith is the only one of the 'gang' who has not been bridesmaid, K was hers, and K wanted someone 'on hand' to help her choose dresses etc. However, I shall need you and Barbara at hand to help with all the other issues at the time so do hope the date will suit you. I think July is a busy month for John & Barbara provided they are still in Lanzarote!! - no word of a baby yet!! I think they are still getting used to Alex. He really is very good - speaks well in three languages - ie Spanish English and his own words '[?]win[/?]' for wind and an "oh dear" for a bump or bruise! and "bed town" for going to bed! etc etc.

No more now - Dad and I are just off to 'flat-sit' for K & K. Their water pipes were replaced recently and today the inspector is to call to check the installation. Sorry I am not available to do similar for you. Hope you can organise a move alright. Employ a firm and leave them to pack everything. It's easier than you think!! Once you have done it half a dozen times!

Love Mum xxx

This work is protected by copyright. All rights reserved.

The SCOTS Project and the University of Glasgow do not necessarily endorse, support or recommend the views expressed in this document.


Cite this Document

APA Style:

Letter from Frances Gardner 03 - 05/09/89. 2024. In The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow. Retrieved 22 April 2024, from

MLA Style:

"Letter from Frances Gardner 03 - 05/09/89." The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow, 2024. Web. 22 April 2024.

Chicago Style

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech, s.v., "Letter from Frances Gardner 03 - 05/09/89," accessed 22 April 2024,

If your style guide prefers a single bibliography entry for this resource, we recommend:

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. 2024. Glasgow: University of Glasgow.


Information about Document 1457

Letter from Frances Gardner 03 - 05/09/89


Text audience

Adults (18+)
Audience size 1
Writer knew intended audience

Text details

Method of composition Handwritten
Year of composition 1989
Word count 438
General description Letter from mother in Scotland to daughter living in Canada

Text publication details

Part of a longer series of texts
Name of series Series of letters from mother to daughter

Text setting


Text type



Author details

Author id 1059
Forenames Frances
Surname Gardner
Gender Female
Decade of birth 1920
Educational attainment College
Age left school 18
Occupation Retired Social Worker
Place of birth Bridge of Weir
Region of birth Renfrew
Birthplace CSD dialect area Renfr
Country of birth Scotland
Place of residence Edinburgh
Region of residence Edinburgh
Residence CSD dialect area Edb
Country of residence Scotland
Father's occupation Corn Factor
Father's place of birth Montreal
Father's region of birth Quebec
Father's country of birth Canada
Mother's occupation Housewife
Mother's place of birth Edinburgh
Mother's region of birth Edinburgh
Mother's birthplace CSD dialect area Edb
Mother's country of birth Scotland


Language Speak Read Write Understand Circumstances
English Yes Yes Yes Yes
Scots Yes Yes Yes Yes