Document 1300

Scottish Parliament: Motions and Amendments: 2002 S1M-2966

Author(s): Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body

Copyright holder(s): Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body: © Scottish Parliamentary copyright material is reproduced with the permission of the Queen's Printer for Scotland on behalf of the Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body.


S1M-2966# Margaret Smith (Edinburgh West) (LD) : World Asthma Day, 7 May 2002— That the Parliament notes that World Asthma Day is on Tuesday 7 May 2002 when, in the United Kingdom, the National Asthma Campaign will highlight childhood asthma; is aware that over 113,000 (around 1 in 6) children in Scotland have been diagnosed with asthma and that the incidence is highest amongst children; commends the National Asthma Campaign Scotland for its work on childhood asthma, including its publication of the first childhood asthma audit and its programme of asthma information sessions for adults working in the early years sector; further notes the soon to be published Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network/British Thoracic Society guidelines for asthma and invites the Scottish Executive to devise a national asthma strategy to ensure that these guidelines are implemented across the country and matched by any necessary resources.

Supported by: Mr Stewart Stevenson, Christine Grahame, Ms Jackie Baillie, Ian Jenkins, Karen Whitefield, Dennis Canavan, Bill Butler, Marilyn Livingstone, Mr Michael Matheson, Irene Oldfather, Scott Barrie, Bruce Crawford, Mr David Davidson, Lord James Douglas-Hamilton, Trish Godman, Margaret Jamieson, Richard Lochhead, Ms Margo MacDonald, Mr John McAllion, Ms Fiona McLeod, Ms Pauline McNeill, Cathy Peattie, Mr Jamie Stone, Mr Andrew Welsh, Brian Adam, Ms Sarah Boyack, Robert Brown, Dorothy-Grace Elder, Fergus Ewing, Mr Kenneth Gibson, Mr Kenneth Macintosh, Maureen Macmillan, Irene McGugan, Mrs Lyndsay McIntosh, David Mundell, Mrs Nora Radcliffe, Shona Robison, Michael Russell, Mary Scanlon, Iain Smith, Nicola Sturgeon, Fiona Hyslop, Tommy Sheridan, Mr Murray Tosh, Mr Robin Harper, Mrs Kay Ullrich, Mr Andrew Wilson, Mr John Young, Karen Gillon, Mr Keith Raffan, Donald Gorrie, Tricia Marwick

Lodged on 05 April 2002; taken in the Chamber on 08 May 2002

This work is protected by copyright. All rights reserved.

The SCOTS Project and the University of Glasgow do not necessarily endorse, support or recommend the views expressed in this document.

Document source:


Cite this Document

APA Style:

Scottish Parliament: Motions and Amendments: 2002 S1M-2966. 2024. In The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow. Retrieved 23 February 2024, from

MLA Style:

"Scottish Parliament: Motions and Amendments: 2002 S1M-2966." The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. Glasgow: University of Glasgow, 2024. Web. 23 February 2024.

Chicago Style

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech, s.v., "Scottish Parliament: Motions and Amendments: 2002 S1M-2966," accessed 23 February 2024,

If your style guide prefers a single bibliography entry for this resource, we recommend:

The Scottish Corpus of Texts & Speech. 2024. Glasgow: University of Glasgow.


Information about Document 1300

Scottish Parliament: Motions and Amendments: 2002 S1M-2966


Text audience

General public
Audience size 1000+

Text details

Method of composition Wordprocessed
Year of composition 2002
Word count 289
General description Motions and Amendments. See

Text medium

Web (webpages, discussion boards, newsgroups, chat rooms)

Text publication details

Publisher Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body
Publication year 2002
Place of publication

Text setting


Text type

Prose: nonfiction


Author details

Author id 908
Surname Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body